fifth semester! (books)

Today I spent around $240 on (text)books for college. Yikes. I think that might be the most I’ve spent so far. However, I am so excited for my classes this semester, though it’ll be an insanely challenging one for sure.

I’m taking a class on the Psalms, a class that explores the relationship of faith and suffering, a class on the practices of community development, a survey of China from the 1600s, and a class on 20th century world history. I even ordered them from most excited to least excited! But yeah, those Bible classes are going to be so grand. I am the worst at constantly being in the Word, but when I pop open my Bible, I often go to a Psalm and think, “Welp, I’ve finished my Christian duty for the day.” Yet, the Psalms are so rich! I mean, I know that for sure, like there are denominations that only sing off the Psalms for worship. So I’m so excited to dig into the Psalms, especially Psalm 119. Faith and Suffering will be so good too, just because of events that have happened in my own life and in the lives of some dear friends. The only technical book that we have to buy is Nicholas Wolterstorff’s Lament for a Son, in which the author takes his readers through him processing his grief after losing his 25 year old son due to a mountain climbing accident. The rest of the course material is online, and oh man it’s good stuff.

So here’s all the books I bought today/required for the semester:

Psalms

The Psalms: A Historical and Spiritual Commentary with an Introduction and New Translation

How to Read the Psalms (How to Read Series)

Answering God: The Psalms as Tools for Prayer

Book of Psalms/Pocket

Why Do We Hope?: Images in the Psalms

Faith and Suffering

Lament for a Son

The Glory of God (Theology in Community)

faith anf suffering

Community Development

Bridges Out of Poverty: Strategies for Professionals and Communities

Walking With the Poor

Building Communities from the Inside Out: A Path Toward Finding and Mobilizing a Community’s Assets

Modern China

The Opium War: Drugs, Dreams and the Making of Modern China

Revolution and Its Past: Identities and Change in Modern Chinese History 

History in Three Keys: The Boxers as Event, Experience, and Myth

Youth Culture in China: From Red Guards to Netizens

Mao’s War against Nature: Politics and the Environment in Revolutionary China

20th Century World History

Contemporary World History

Hitler’s Shadow Empire: Nazi Economics and the Spanish Civil War

The Influenza Pandemic of 1918-1919 (Bedford Cultural Editions Series)

1989: Democratic Revolutions at the Cold War’s End: A Brief History with Documents

Here’s to diligence for junior year….

4 thoughts on “fifth semester! (books)

    1. A freshman (ha) told me to email Frances Martindale from the bookstore with my class list since they are having problems with MBSDirect this year! Hope that helps with your other classes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

