On death according to Nicholas Wolterstorff

But please: Don’t say it’s not really so bad. Because it is. Death is awful, Demonic. If you think your task as a comfortor is to tell me that really, all things considered, its not so bad, you do not sit with me in my grief but place youself off in a distance from me. Over there you are of no help. I need to hear you are with me in my desperation. To comfort me you have to come close. Come sit beside me on my mourning bench. I know: People do sometimes think things are more awful then they really are. Such people need to be corrected ~~ gently, eventually. But no one thinks death is more awful then it is. It is those who think it is not so bad that need correcting.

Leave a Reply

